Being Told I am to Skinny

slvbullet
on 6/5/11 11:12 pm - Cherry Hill, NJ
 Having a tough time.  I am 12 months out.  I was 293 down to 148.  I still want to lose at least 18 more.  I am 5'.  But here is the kicker I am being told I am getting to skinny that I need to stop losing.  I am getting it from home, work.  At first it's great but now it's getting old.  I don't know what to think.  It's really starting to bother me.  Especially my loved one saying I am getting to skinny.  What do you all think?
poet_kelly
on 6/5/11 11:18 pm - OH
Tell people you're working closely with your doctor to make sure you're a healthy weight and your doc says your current weight is just fine for your height (I'm assuming that's true - I am 5'4" and 123 lbs and I believe I'm a healthy weight).  Tell them your blood tests are good and you're otherwise healthy, too (again, assuming that's true.)

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

laura_vermont
on 6/5/11 11:22 pm

This seems to be a common problem.  At 5' and 130, you shouldn't be too thin.  If you're really muscular or have a lot of extra skin, then it might be.  I think it really is that people aren't used to seeing us thin.  And, we do seem to get gaunt - well, at least I'm looking a little too thin in the face.

Congrats on your weight loss -- nearly 150lbs in a year is really really amazing!

Laura

High Weight 278; consult weight 234; Surgery Weight 219 Surgeon's Goal Weight 150 -10/27/10  -  Personal goal weight 140 - Achieved 12/11/10  

flyingwoman
on 6/5/11 11:23 pm