Any thoughts on... Citracal Calcium Gummies??

Elizabeth Z.
on 6/21/11 3:30 pm - Corning, NY
So, I have recently stumbled on some Citracal Calcium Gummies w/ D3 coupons. I haven't found much information about these, and it's a little too late for me to go running to the store just to read the labels. Has anybody tried these? Are they made with calcium that we can absorb? Any idea on the cost? 

I guess, what I'm getting at... is are these worth my time? I currently take vitamin gummies everyday and I love them! If I could find a calcium supplement in gummy form, that'd be super awesome! (my vitamin gummies make for a great lunch dessert and it's not a chore to eat them!)

Thanks for any help you can offer! 

http://bariatrickitchen.wordpress.com/

Celia S.
on 6/21/11 4:40 pm - Grand Junction, CO
I remember reading that the form of calcium best absorbed by a bariatric patient is Calcium Citrate. The Citracal gummies are made with Tricalcium Phosphate. I'm no expert and you should probably ask your surgeon or NUT if they're okay, but I wouldn't buy them without getting their okay.
Amy R.
on 6/21/11 5:49 pm

Sadly, they're not for us.  You can take them, but you won't absorb any of the calcium.  The ONLY type of calcium we absorb is the calcium citrate.

Kristen M.
on 6/21/11 10:57 pm - VA
What kind of vitamin gummies do you take? I am waiting on my pre-op packet in the mail & my surgery is july 25th. but I am wondering how many times do you have to take vitamins and what vitamins do you have to take everyday/times a day! did you do gummies right off the bat? i'm worried i'm going to have a hard time with them but only time will tell!
What you do today creates every tomorrow-Oprah    
Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 6/21/11 11:06 pm - OH