How much time to take from work?

Kristina41
on 7/21/11 9:54 pm
RNY on 06/26/12
Hello, I was wondering when to schedule my surgery. I'm going through the whole pre-op process, and after the 3-6 month pre-op diet, I may be able to schedule surgery in December, Jan or Feb.. I'm a teacher (7th grade) which can be kind of demanding, on my feet the whole day, but not picking up heavy things or anything like that. I was originally planning on next summer for surgery because I'll have two months of "recoop" time. I say that laughingly because with 3 boys ranging in ages from 10 to 2, I'm not really "off." Anyway, I figured this way I could relearn what and how to eat, and if I have embarrassing side-effects it wouldn't be in a classroom in front of kids. Or perhaps I could figure out how to handle them before I go back to work. It is a little discouraging thinking I'll have to wait until late June/early July however.....what do you think?

Laura in Texas
on 7/21/11 10:19 pm
I say to get it done ASAP. Do you have sick days? I was teaching 8th grade math when I had my RNY. I told my principal I needed it done for my health and was going to get it done as soon as I could schedule it. He was very supportive. I had it in September 2008 and took 2 weeks off. I made sure I did not try eating new things at school.

Laura

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

24kgirl
on 7/21/11 10:36 pm - Decatur, GA