Day 1 of not smoking

danvet
on 9/18/11 10:40 pm
Today is my first day of being smoke free.  Funny how it seems that it's not that bad, yet.  I know it's going to be difficult.  I've been smoking for 31 years but I've read here on the posts about the need to quit smoking and being nicotine tested prior to surgery, so in keeping with my theme of getting healthy I'm kicking the habit.  I kind of figure that this is going to radically change my life so smoking should really be the least of the evils to quit.

What have you done to quit smoking?  What worked best?  Should I go to a nicotine patch???  

I drive all day for work and so I am worried if I'll be able to put those nasty cigarettes down for good. It'll be so nice to not smell like an ashtray or have bad breath.  Wish me luck!!! 
Kathleen W.
on 9/18/11 11:01 pm - Lancaster, PA
You're going to fine.  Good Luck. May I make a suggestion for you? When you have the urge to by cigerettes, put that money away somewhere.  When the money builds up,  treat yourself and/or your family to something.  Depending on the amount,  a night at the movies,  a romanitic long weekend somewhere, sexy cloths to turn the spouse on, etc.  You get the idea.

SW 327
GW 150
CW 126

sjweiser
on 9/18/11 11:05 pm
 Hi I am smoke free for a year. Well I wanted the surgery bad enough that I quit cold turkey.
My surgeon Told me he need me to quit smoking and i just did. I don't miss it.
I wish you good luck with out smoking.
KatCooper
on 9/18/11 11:05 pm - Collierville, TN