Questioning ourselves

mikjul1
on 12/3/11 12:14 pm - bel air, MD
So how many others asked them selves am I doing the right thing right before their surgery date mine is th 6th 3 days. I am sure everyone has thought of it. So nervious there might be Complications. My family kids stuff like that goes through my mined what if something happens. Well thought I would just say if any other is thinking that kind of stuff alone.
poet_kelly
on 12/3/11 12:22 pm - OH
Don't you think most people, if not all, ask themselves those questions?  I bet they do.

Personally, I thought about it and decided I was at greater risk for complications or something bad happening if I remained morbidly obese than if I had surgery.  But there are risks with any surgery.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

BWB
on 12/3/11 12:31 pm, edited 12/3/11 1:33 pm
 I thought about it as they were rolling me into the operating room.  I'm very happy that I didn't bail.  I don't remember anything until I woke up in my room hours later.  So you are not alone.  If your surgeon has all the right credentials then you will be fine and they have all the necessary equipment anyway.
I'll be watching for your post especially when you are 2 to 3 months out.  Your kids and wife will be so proud of you.

poet_kelly
on 12/4/11 3:44 am - OH
Picking a qualified surgeon is certainly important, but it does not guarantee no complications.  Some complications are not related to poor performance by the surgeon.  for instance, I got severe pneumonia after my RNY but nothing my surgeon did or did not do during my operation caused that.  Sometimes things just happen.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly