Overwhelmed and Scared

Vargsgirl
on 12/11/11 12:25 am - (Upper) Bucks County, PA
RNY on 01/18/12
My surgery is scheduled for January 18th and I'm currently in the midst of my pre-op appointments with various doctors.  Had a visit with the cardiologist for clearance last week and he'd like to have me do a stress test (since I have diabetes).  Is this a normal request? I didn't think to ask at the time but now I've got a nagging concern something was noticed on my EKG.  

poet_kelly
on 12/11/11 12:28 am - OH
Some docs recommend all preops do a stress test, so yeah, it's a normal request.  But if you think there may have been something on your EKG, why not call the doc tomorrow and ask?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 12/11/11 12:34 am - Front Royal, VA
RNY on 08/29/11 with

it was part of my requirements from my insurance and my surgeons team for approval :)

Vargsgirl
on 12/11/11 12:45 am - (Upper) Bucks County, PA
RNY on 01/18/12
I feel better knowing that - I'm still going to give the office a call tomorow just to put my mind at ease.  I think I just worry that after all of this I'll hit a roadblock.  Regardless of results I'll be happy to have it done.  My family has a very ugly history of heart disease.  I'd rather find out now than later if there is an issue.  

Now my next question - if I fail....then what?
poet_kelly
on 12/11/11 1:14 am - OH
If the stress test indicates a problem, the doc might order additional tests.  And he might recommend some sort of treatment, depending on  what the problem is.  Depending on what it is, it might not interfere with surgery.