Is there good restriction with RNY?

Hzleydgal
on 12/13/11 1:44 pm
I am looking at doing a revision from Lap Band to RNY and I'm wondering if those of you that have had RNY feel the restriction in your pouch or do you mostly rely on the malabsorption aspect of the surgery??

Thank you for sharing any experience!
Hazel
missjann
on 12/13/11 1:55 pm
Since my pouch started out roughly the size of a golf ball I was told, there
is definitely restriction besides malabsorption.  That's the point of the rny.
The stomach is disconnected and a small pouch is formed from a part
of the stomach. It's quite small so there's no getting around restriction.
Talking to friends that have the lap band, I don't think I feel "restriction"
like they do, but I started out being able to drink only 2 ounces at a time.
I graduated up and can eat about a cup of food now at a year out.
If I overeat, there is intense discomfort and I would vomit, so clearly
I don't do that.
    Jan

Samantha L.
on 12/13/11 5:05 pm, edited 12/13/11 5:05 pm - Petaluma, CA
 Since the caloric malabsorption goes away eventually, the restriction is what it's really all about.  The malabsorption helps with the initial weight loss.  It's fairly rapid. I lost 27 lbs in the first 9 days.. then nothing until day 27.  Stalls happen.  I am almost 18 months out and have lost a total of 155 lbs.  =]  I am now in maintenance and so far (knock on wood) I have been able to hold steady despite the fact that my malabsorption is probably just about gone.  

T. Deeds
on 12/13/11 10:08 pm
Umm, there is DEFINITELY a huge a amount of restriction with the bypass.  For example, before the surgery, I could eat an entire pizza.  Now, I eat one slice and feel very full.  One thing that the bypass offers, that the band doesn't, is hunger supression.  I haven't felt real hunger since my surgery more than 6 months ago.  This has been a huge factor in controlling my eating.  I wish the doctors emphasized this aspect of the surgery more. 

Kim S.