I need advice on Iron please...

JenK130
on 3/14/12 4:59 am
RNY on 01/30/12
I get so much great info from all of you.  So thank you for that!

I will be 7 weeks out on Monday.  I have not had post op labs yet (next week).  So I don't know how all my levels are.

I am having such a problem with Iron.  I am having flashback to pregnancy and how sick the prenatal vitamins made me!  Is there a a gentle iron that works for us?  I heard of a liquid form at Whole Foods that is more gentle.  But I have no idea if that is enough or how much I need.

Thanks!
Jen
 RNY 1/30/12  

poet_kelly
on 3/14/12 5:24 am - OH
Carbonyl iron.  And the ASMBS says you need 54-63 mg if you menstruate, 36 mg if you don't.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Lorrainecma
on 3/14/12 7:13 am
 I use a chewable iron from Bariatric Advaantage. "Iron Chewy bites"  So far these are the only ones I tried that I dont taste later. 

HollDobs
on 3/14/12 8:51 am - MA
I take the chewable iron from ariatric Advantage also. The VitronC made me sick
mermaidoz
on 3/14/12 10:07 am, edited 3/14/12 10:10 am - Canada
HEME iron, all natural from beef, you can take it anytimeand does not constipate or have any side effects found with other mineral sources of iron ( don't have to take  hours before this or that, and with or without food...)...sold under brand name  PROFERRIN...not for Vegans as meat sourced...Take  1 a day if not iron defficient, and 3 tablets a day if you are, easy one with each meal if you want......they swallow easy as are oblong shaped which go down easy......
cedarstar
on 3/14/12 2:49 pm - Manitoba, Canada