yo-yoing on my surgery date-anxiety yikes

Chipples5
on 4/20/12 12:58 am
I'm still a newbie and finding my way.  I just wanted a place to rant where people will understand what I am dealing with. 

I found out on the 13th that my surgery is scheduled for the 30th.  I was so excited.  Then little by little everything started getting crazy.  I just moved into a new apartment that costs significantly more that the last and with only 2 weeks notice it doesn't allow a lot of time to get prepared financially or otherwise.

Then I told my boss on the 13th when my surgery is scheduled and all she could say is "This isn't gonna work out."  She expressed that there is no way that I am going to return to work after just 4 weeks out because she knows tons of people that have had all kinds of complications and infections.  She's a self proclaimed expert on the subject all of a sudden.  I then told her that it is a laproscopic procedure and her response was "Oh it is?!?!?! I have never heard of that before. I can't believe that they do it that way!"  As if to say that I am a total liar and have no idea what I am talking about.  I then asked her if I leave on the 30th and am out for 4 weeks, am I going to have a job to come back to.  Her response was like this "Weeellllll, you see, I can't be here for 4 weeks by myself and do all that I need to do to prepare for our show.  I'm gonna have to hire somebody temporarily for the time that you are out.  However, I am not gonna be able to find someone who only wants a job for 4 weeks so........"  It seems pretty clear to me that what she is trying to say is NO.  Then I asked her if I postpone it until after our show to the end of June if it would make a difference and she said "either way is not a good time so just do it now."

I work for a small family owned company.  I work part time (33 Hours a week).  We only have 8 employees too.  I don't qualify for FMLA, Aflac or even unemployment.