gained weight

nbw
on 5/16/12 8:12 am
 I will be out one year in just a couple of weeks. I have lost 87pds. Had only 2 more to go to reach the doctors goal. I see the dr on friday and today I weighed and GAINED 3 pounds. I am sooooo upset. I drink 2 shakes and maintain 800 calories a day. I follow MYFITNESSPAL. I am also walking a mile a day. Why is this happening?
 Nancy
taylorwayzz
on 5/16/12 8:16 am - MI
I guess I am not understanding why you are still drinking shakes twice a day. I am only 9 months post op and i eat 1000 calories a day and dont do shakes anymore. I do eat protein bars, but I get all the rest from eating food. Are you having a problem keeping food down?
 Lynnette                 
poet_kelly
on 5/16/12 8:17 am - OH
Because it's normal for your weight to fluctuate sometimes.  Perhaps you are retaining water or need to poop.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

exohexoh
on 5/16/12 8:19 am - West Chester, PA
 you aren't consuming enough calories to gain actual weight. it's likely water weight, especially if its your TOM or you've eaten something particularly salty. 

<3 jen <3

<3 starting weight: 252 <3 goal weight: 135 <3 current weight: 151 <3

RNY: 9/27/10 <3 Extended Tummy Tuck w/hip & thigh lipo: 6/6/13

walterswife
on 5/16/12 9:01 am
Fluctuations are completely normal. 

I will also ask why you are not eating more food and consuming more calories.  800 seems low to me at one year out.  I can see one shake a day but it seems that you should be getting more of your protein from food at this point.

HW 240/ SW 229/ GW 146/CW 125; OH Support Group Leader   

Starting size:  18W-20;  Present size: 0 or 2; 5'5-1/2" tall.