questions for my fellow open rny patients?

M. B
on 7/13/12 10:13 am
RNY on 07/13/12
 surgery went great.. i was in my own room by 9 this morning...i feel completley fine as long as im perfectly still, but if i move i have the usual burning painful inscision site (its about 6 inches long) 
anyways the nurses came in.and said i could walk when i felt like it... im just not sure that im ready... think if i just get up and do it i.will surprise myself?
poet_kelly
on 7/13/12 10:16 am - OH
I'm surprised they have not had you up walking yet.  I got to my room around noon and was up walking by 2:00 pm, I think.

yeah, you should get up and do it.  The sooner you do, the easier it will be.  And it will help you feel better, honestly.  You don't have to walk far.  Don't get up by yourself, have a nurse there with you.  Just walk to the bathroom and back to the bed if you don't want to go far. 

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Zeigled
on 7/13/12 11:48 am - Parkton, MD
For me the walking wasn't bad - getting up was tough.  I would ask for some pain med about 20 min before you want to get up.  I had quite a bit of pain with bending and using the abs.
HW 357 SW 341   

moviechick00
on 7/13/12 1:45 pm
Revision on 05/17/12