OT: Information wanted on Canning/Freezing Fruits & Veggies

shutterbugjunkie
on 8/6/12 9:40 am
RNY on 02/04/11 with
Hi, all! I've never canned or frozen fruits & veggies before, but I'd definitely like to give it a try. If anyone has any recipes, hints, tips, suggestions, etc for a total newbie, please help me out! Feel free to email me directly at [email protected] if you have recipes you'd like to send. Thanks so much!
  SW/258.5 Surgery Weight/249 CW/149.5 GW/140

LJ1972
on 8/6/12 10:02 am - FL
check out www.sufficientself.com
hedrider
on 8/6/12 10:54 am - Midlothian, TX
 Subscribing because I'm interested too!
Heather
Since 2008 my team has raised over $42,000 to fight breast cancer.

Paul C.
on 8/6/12 11:15 am - Cumming, GA
 Best way to freeze fruits and veggies is to use dry ice.

Break the dry ice up and put in the bottom of a cooler on a cookie sheet place your cleaned fruits or veggies and place this in the cooler over the dry ice.  Be careful when opening the cooler or getting your face to close to the cooler as breathing the gas is not a good idea.
Paul C.
First 5K 9/27/20 46:32 - 11 weeks post op  (PR 28:55 8/15/11)
First 10K 7/04/2011 1:03      
      First 15K 9/18/2011 1:37
First Half Marathon 10/02/2011 2:27:44 (
PR 2:24:35)   
First Half Ironman 9/30/12 7:32:04
shutterbugjunkie
on 8/6/12 11:18 am
RNY on 02/04/11 with
How long do you keep the cookie sheet in the cooler? Then you just take the items off the cookie sheet & put them in baggies & stick them in the freezer? Also, where do you buy dry ice?

Thanks for all the info!

BeccaM76
on 8/6/12 11:27 am
We do alot of canning. Veggies need to be pressure canned due to the low acid content. Pressure canners can be pretty expensive and the start up cost for canning can get spendy. I would suggest freezing at first. Then, you can gather canning jars and canners at garage sales and clearence sales. Good luck.