Newbie...1 Week off of work?

dinas27
on 8/8/12 10:48 am - IL
RNY on 09/10/12
I am doing all of my research for Gastric Bypass, I know I want it, just trying to get approved for the surgery.  I was just at my last appointment and the Doctor told me that since my job had very little "labor" (I'm an accountant) I could expect to be back at work in 1 week after the procedure.  Reading these boards people are saying they were out for 60 days and 4 weeks.  Has ANYONE ever had the surgery and gone back to work after 1 week? 

Thank you for your help!
hannan
on 8/8/12 11:45 am - FL
RNY on 06/06/12
I went back to school 6 days later, the first few days were not easy. I went back to work at the two week mark which was a little difficult but I also work a physical job. If you have paid sick leave take the two weeks, if you don't, suffer though the next couple of days back. It really isn't that bad. I think people who are taking 4-8 weeks off must have extremely physical jobs.
hannan
on 8/8/12 11:46 am - FL
RNY on 06/06/12
OH and I got so freaking bored at my house for two weeks only going to school! It was torture!

KittenLove
on 8/8/12 11:51 am - Around Knoxville, TN
Desk job here - back in a week. And I had an extended hospital stay and had to go home with the JP drain

Be happy. 

dinas27
on 8/8/12 12:02 pm - IL
RNY on 09/10/12
Thank you!  I was starting to freak out because I thought there was no way I was going to be able to take 4 weeks off of work!!  Thank you thank you! 
TravelinRN
on 8/9/12 4:04 pm
 While of course everyone is different in their recovery, this is what I'm banking on.