Sipping vs. regular drinking

Rebecki65
on 9/5/12 7:51 pm - OR
RNY on 08/20/12
I'm 2.5 weeks post op and I was wondering why we are supposed to sip our water instead of drinking regular "gulps"?  I'm not talking gulping down like if you were dying of thirst, but just a regular, average 2 or 3 gulps.

I've forgotten to sip a few times and did normal drinking gulps and had no issues.  I can certainly get my fluids in better if I can drink normally rather than sipping all day.

Never get so busy making a living that you forget to make a life!      
HW: 243  CW: 157  SW: 217
RNY: 8/20/12  Age: 48 Height: 5'3"

I've lost 86lbs!  Lost 90, but the honeymoon phase is over.  Now the real work begins!

poet_kelly
on 9/5/12 7:53 pm - OH
Some people have discomfort if they take big drinks.  If it's comfortable for you, then drink however you like.  There is no reason you have to sip.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

LiciaLou
on 9/5/12 8:06 pm - Central, FL
RNY on 08/29/12
I agree with Kelly; drink however you are comfortable. I am a wk out today & have been able to drink normally since I was in the hospital. Once in awhile I will notice a twinge if I drink too much at once but all in all it's been smooth sailing. Protein is a whole other beast so I am thankful I can at least get in all my water.

Alicia ~ HW 307 ~ SW 287 ~ GW 135 ~ CW 160

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 9/5/12 8:17 pm - OH
What Kelly said.  I did not sip beyond the first couple of days.  I was taking small swallows, but regular swallows nevertheless.