Maintenance meal planning/calories question....vets

slrm2m2
on 10/19/12 10:28 am - Canada
 Do you ever experience a variation in your appetite from day to day?  Do you eat more on the days that you feel hungrier or do you only stick to what you planned in advance?  Do you have a fixed calorie amount that you plan your meals around day to day or do you have a calorie range that you plan for and allow yourself to eat to the high end of it on the days you have more of an appetitie or exercised more?

Sandy  Surgery Jan.18,2012 with Dr. Timothy Jackson at TWH.

Ladytazz
on 10/19/12 10:56 am
I definitely have days when I am hungrier then others.  I have been dealing with this maintenance thing for over a year now and I am still learning my way around it.  What I am finding is that it isn't necessarily how many calories I take in in a day but a cumulative amount over several days.  One day I may eat 1200, another 2000 and another 1800 but it all seems to even out on a weekly basis.  That is why I no longer freak out when I have a big food day, because I know that the next day I may hardly eat.
I tend to plan out my food every day and allow for more food then I probably will eat.  That way I am covered if I get hungry.  I try to plan ahead and have food with me if I am going to be gone for a long time.  When I go to work it looks like I am packing for a trip because I tend to get picky and if I only brought one or two things and I don't feel like them I might not have anything I want to eat with  me.

WLS 10/28/2002 Revision 7/23/2010

High Weight  (2002) 240 Revision Weight (2010) 220 Current Weight 115.

Dee.spunk
on 10/19/12 10:59 am - Sacramento, CA
Yes I do. Some days I'm not hungry at all. I can barely eat an ounce. Others I can eatmy meal and still be hungry. But for the most part I stick to my meals. If I can't and I feel like I have to eat something I'll eat cheese or nuts.

Height:5'1.5 RNY:11/30/11 HW:307 SW:234 CW:136 GW:140 (LOST 73 Lbs. PRE-OP)

gbsinsatx