Question on prescription meds

JennLa
on 2/7/13 12:19 pm, edited 2/7/13 12:20 pm
RNY on 03/07/13

I am scheduled for surgery a month from today.  I am on several prescription meds - blood pressure, diuretic, metphormin - you get the drift.   Are you able to take these right out of surgery or do I get them filled in liquid form or crush up?   Dr says I should be off all meds except maybe my Wellbutrin ( 3 kids, 4 dogs...nah hanging on to that one for a while lol) in about 6 months.  

tgs1420
on 2/7/13 12:41 pm - WI

I kept some, stopped some, and crush all. Not all come liquid, wait for your Dr. to decide.

poet_kelly
on 2/7/13 2:50 pm - OH

I was taking my prescription meds the evening after my surgery.  Be aware that we don't absorb extended release meds properly after RNY so you may need to get prescriptions changed if you're on any of those.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

WhoIWantToBe *.
on 2/7/13 6:27 pm
RNY on 01/10/12

Check with each of your prescribing docs. My endocrinologist told me to stop the Victoza the night before surgery (and not take any more after that) but I had to stay on the Metformin until I'd gotten down to 180 lbs. (YMMV, of course.)  I'm still on Wellbutrin, but since we can't take extended release meds I had to have that changed to the non-XR version and I take it twice a day instead of once. I was able to get off all my blood pressure meds soon after surgery, but I restarted Verapamil because my migraines got worse after I stopped it. (My blood pressure is normal now.)