How hard is to stretch your pouch??

robin1103
on 12/11/12 10:53 pm - MD
RNY on 11/13/12

This is my biggest fear of stretching my pouch.  I'm terrified of eating too much, drinking too big of gulp.

SW 238 CW 189 GW 135

poet_kelly
on 12/11/12 10:58 pm - OH
On December 12, 2012 at 6:53 AM Pacific Time, robin1103 wrote:

This is my biggest fear of stretching my pouch.  I'm terrified of eating too much, drinking too big of gulp.

It's pretty hard.  The pouch is made from the least stretchy part of the stomach.  You can't stretch it by drinking, no matter how big the gulp, since you don't have a pyloric valve and liquids now run right through the pouch.  If you overeat by a big amount regularly, you might stretch it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

robin1103
on 12/11/12 11:02 pm - MD
RNY on 11/13/12

Thank you Kelly!!  I appreciate your help.

SW 238 CW 189 GW 135

ToNewBeginnings
on 12/11/12 11:19 pm

What Kelly said.

Larry Wassmann
on 12/11/12 11:22 pm - Lacey, WA
RNY on 05/09/12

The easy way to be safe and stay safe from stretching your pouch is to measure and weigh everything you eat. If you know the size of what you are eating, how could you stretch anything? I was told by my surgeon that the pouch will get a little bigger over time but by then your eating habits should be such that you would not stretch it. I intend to measure everything for the rest of my life. 

fb.png   Visit my Blog at  http://www.lwassmann.blogspot.com/                                

MyLady Heidi
on 12/12/12 2:29 am