Pre-op diet

netnay
on 3/15/13 5:15 pm
RNY on 03/27/13

My surgery is March 27. I don't have to do the 2 week liquid diet I have seen a lot of people on here have had to do. BUT I am seriously thinking about only doing liquids a few days before. My doctor only requires a liquid diet the day before and magnesium citrate for a bowel cleanse. What do y'all think?

poet_kelly
on 3/15/13 5:40 pm - OH

Why are you thinking about doing a liquid diet for a few days if your doctor thinks it's not necessary for you?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

netnay
on 3/15/13 5:48 pm
RNY on 03/27/13

Not only to help clear me out but also to get used to just drinking liquids since I will have to drink only liquids after surgery for 3 weeks. It's more to prepare myself. I've already starter doing different things like not drinking anything while I am eating and chewing my food to a fine mush.

'View

poet_kelly
on 3/15/13 10:16 pm - OH

Well, you'll already be cleared out by just doing liquids the day before.  If you think it will help you prepare yourself, then go ahead.  It will be easier to stick to just liquids after surgery, though, than it will before.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

dahoodman
on 3/15/13 10:36 pm - VA
RNY on 03/26/13