Question on Sublingual B-12

kinny09
on 8/5/13 9:40 am - New York, NY
RNY on 06/11/13

Silly question here - but how much better are sublingual B-12 absorbed than one you may chew? The reason I ask is that it's dissolving under the tongue, then you swallow the remnants. How well is it absorbed this way compared to chewing one up to the same consistency? I'm wondering if I should just outright ask for monthly injections instead...

HW: 306         Day of Surgery: 299         Current Weight: 172

poet_kelly
on 8/5/13 9:46 am - OH

Significantly better.  Since you have very little stomach acid and intrinsic factor in your pouch, you absorb very little B12 that you swallow (whether you chew it up first or not).  The sublinguals, on the other hand, get absorbed through the thin mucus membrane under the tongue.  You don't need stomach acid or intrinsic factor for that.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

kinny09
on 8/5/13 10:16 am - New York, NY
RNY on 06/11/13

Thanks Kelly! I just wasn't sure how much was actually absorbed prior to swallowing the remains of the sublingual version, ykwim? I let it dissolve until it's like a liquid and then swallow it. I have a history of B-12 malabsorption due to my years of being on metformin so my levels have never been great in that area, but now that I'm off it I hope that the levels will come back up with the sublingual.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 8/5/13 10:30 am - OH