Heating pad?

Lovetocruz
on 11/17/13 7:59 pm - Nashville, NC

Trying to prepare my "to the hospital list", and have a heating pad question.  Should I take my own, or will hospital supply?

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 11/17/13 8:40 pm, edited 11/17/13 8:40 pm - OH

I didn't have any need or use for one at all. What do you expect to need it for?

I have had many surgeries and have never seen a heating pad in the hospital, so my guess is that if you want one for something, you will need to bring your own.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

poet_kelly
on 11/17/13 8:52 pm - OH

Hospitals typically have heating pads if patients need them.  I didn't need one in the hospital after my WLS, though.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

RNY on 10/21/13

I've worked in hospitals for 10 years and don't see heating pads very often, if at all. They typically use different types of hot packs that cool off on their own and usually PT or OT brings them to you. Usually if you bring anything that has a plug (fan, hot pad, CPAP, etc) it needs to be checked out by someone from maintenance and engineering to make sure it meets certain standards and will not cause a fire. 

PetHairMagnet
on 11/18/13 3:44 am
RNY on 05/13/13
On November 18, 2013 at 3:59 AM Pacific Time, Lovetocruz wrote:

Trying to prepare my "to the hospital list", and have a heating pad question.  Should I take my own, or will hospital supply?