x-post - Do I have Anemia?

Angelique J.
on 2/14/14 11:50 am - Allentown, PA

I know (most of) you aren't doctors and I did ask my doctor, through his nurse over the phone, and he said my iron was fine. I am going to ask my NUT as well, but... Okay, so I am not a doctor either, but I feel like blood work is written so that the layperson can read the results i.e. they show the normal range and a big H or L after your numbers. Here are my iron numbers per my blood work from December: 

% SATURATION 7 L 20-50

IRON 38 L 40-170

TOTAL IRON BINDING CAPACITY 543 H 260-430

Note: Results obtained for the total iron binding capacity (TIBC) are based on a calculation derived from the direct determination of iron and transferrin and a calculated % saturation.

Transferrin 446 H 215-380

Additional Information HL7 Result Status: F

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks all :)

poet_kelly
on 2/14/14 7:01 pm - OH

Your iron level is too low.  How much iron do you take?  What kind?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Angelique J.
on 2/15/14 1:07 am - Allentown, PA

I don't take any iron. My doctor has always told me iron levels have been fine so I didn't think I needed to. I am pre-op...well, technically 6 years post-op lap band, pre-op revision to RNY.

poet_kelly
on 2/15/14 1:11 am - OH

OK.  well, I'd start taking some now.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Angelique J.
on 2/15/14 1:13 am - Allentown, PA