Anemic?

cpinck
on 8/6/14 6:41 am - Henderson, KY

Has anyone had an issues with being anemic after surgery?  I had my surgery in 2006.  I'm extremely disappointed with the results but that's beside the point.  I take my iron supplements religiously and try to get in foods with iron but I am still anemic.  Anyone having the same issues?

Thanks!

Cherri

poet_kelly
on 8/6/14 7:51 am - OH

Lots of people, though most are able to resolve iron deficiency by taking more iron and taking a type we absorb well, such as carbonyl iron.  A few seem unable to absorb enough no matter what they do and must rely on iron infusions.

What type of iron have you been taking?  How much?  Do you make sure you take it at least two hours away from calcium?  Do you take it with vitamin C to increase absorption?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

H.A.L.A B.
on 8/6/14 9:38 pm

I am 6 years out.  I needed iron infusions.  

Some people do good with oral iron, but some need iron infusions once in a while

My last one 2 years ago only lasted me 2 years. Hope this one - last month - would last me more than that.  

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

MarshaAnne
on 8/7/14 12:17 am