5 days post op, back at work

GiGi W.
on 8/31/11 1:34 am
Hi everyone!

One of my biggest questions when I came to OH months ago, was "how long will I need to take off from work?" It's a hard question to answer, because everyone is different, and everyone's body responds to surgery differently, but I went back to work yesterday after taking 5 days off, and felt good about it.

I work in retail, so it is not a job that requires heavy lifting or physical labor. I just wanted to let any Newbies or preop know how my healing time went, in case it is helpful. I wasn't required to come back to work, and could take off as much as 2 weeks. I am very surprised at how good I feel physically. Aside from the incisions itching, I can't even tell I had surgery 6 days ago. I thought I would be feeling much worse.

I am struggling to get my water in, but determined not to get dehydrated, so while at work I just sip, sip, sip.

Kelly Puma
on 8/31/11 1:42 am - Royersford, PA
Good for you GiGi - Just be careful. I too have a job that doesn't require physical labor. My surgery is Sept 21st. Hope I feel as good as you to go back in 1 week!
Sip, Sip, Sip
GiGi W.
on 8/31/11 2:04 am
Thanks! I am taking it slowly and carefully. There is no need to rush any of this recovery.

I underestimated how hard it would be to drink 40 oz of water after surgery. I used to just gulp it down...and that's not an option anymore!

Good luck with your surgery! It will be here BEFORE YOU KNOW IT!!

RhondaLynn
on 8/31/11 2:26 am
glad to hear this.. I have surgery scheduled on November 2. which is a Wednesday.  I had planned to come back the following Monday, I am a secretary so I just sit on my butt.. (part of my problem) .  I am glad to know it is possible!

Rhonda
Lori B.
on 8/31/11 3:19 am
Yes, I too was back at work 5 days post op. I have a desk job was able to sit, and had a timer to help remind me to sip sip sip. I was lucky though and felt great, although very tired.