Diarrhea after drinking protein shakes, why???

Shana16
on 10/2/11 6:07 pm - Las Vegas, NV
I have been drinking different brands of shakes now for 6 months.  I can drink milk with out having any kind of problems. About 20 minutes after drinking my shakes (made with milk). I get diarrhea and some times I also get very hot and sweaty. I get sweaty  and a runny noes if I over eat or drink to fast.
Can you please tell me what are the foamies?
Thanks for the help...    

LIVE HOPE DREAM

Shana

Carly ~
on 10/2/11 6:19 pm, edited 10/2/11 6:22 pm
Slime is excess saliva (hyper-salivation) and mucus that your body produces to help lubricate and dissolve excess or stuck food. 
If it is full of air bubbles, it's foamy.
Slime happens when food blocks the stomach, and it is not digesting properly. It can't digest and pass through, so it comes back up out of your mouth with the assistance of saliva and mucus -- in the form of spit-up, drool and/or vomit.
You will first spit up the saliva/mucus either slimy or foamy, that you were swallowing that will not pass through to help with digestion. Then you may continue to let go of whatever you ate that was causing it.
Most of the time it is because we ate too fast, or too much, or the wrong kinds of food.

The vagus nerve that runs from your brainstem to your colon -- could be causing hiccups, running nose or sneezing as a signal that you are full or have had that one last bit too much.  It supplies nerve fibers to the pharynx (throat), larynx (voice box), trachea (windpipe), lungs, heart, esophagus, and intestinal tract as far as sthe transverse portion of the colo.  The vagus nerve also brings sensory information back to the brain from the ear, tongue, pharynx, and larynx. 

Here's a great article with information on the vagus nerve:
http://www.myweightlosssurgeryblog.com/2011/06/27/why-a-runny-nose-and-sneezing-may-signal-overeating/

(deactivated member)
on 10/2/11 7:45 pm