Eating question

pudgypants
on 6/26/12 3:43 am
It just seems that y'all eat so little and mostly shakes....are you eating this little on purpose, or can you literally not eat more than that??? Can you explain to me?? Do you have to drink shakes all the time??? I don't think I want to spend the rest of my life drinking liquids instead of eating. I'm new to this and am having my surgery in December...I know I'll get more of an education about all of this, but I'm here to help educate myself from the actual folks that have done this. Thanks for all your help!!!!

I am going to FIRE LANE BRYANT!!!     

VSG: 12/10/12  HW: 247   SW: 226   CW: 205.6  GW: 150 

emdesq
on 6/26/12 3:59 am
When 85-90% of your stomach is removed, you literally cannot eat very much food in one sitting.  That's the point of the VSG - to restrict your intake, thus lowering your caloric intake and causing you to lose weight due to the deficit.  Because VSGers cannot take in more than a few ounces per meal, we focus on consuming protein, as that is what is most necessary for our bodies to have.  Protein shakes are a great way to get concentrated amounts of protein.  Most people only use protein shakes during their early weight loss phases.  I still have at least one a day, as they are convenient and a great source of nutrients. And I actually like the taste of them. 

Talk to your doctors and do all the research you can before getting this procedure, because it is irreversible. 

No regrets here, though, for the record. 

Ready for my world to change!
HW394/SW373/GW Under 200
scalewarfare11
on 6/26/12 4:02 am
VSG on 08/22/11 with