I just threw away food!

MuttLover
on 12/7/12 3:05 am
VSG on 11/14/12

Clearly, I've turned over a new leaf!  This was my third meal of the grilled chicken with sauce and cheese (a grilled chicken parm of sorts) -- and I had about 1.5 ounces of it and realized that I was feeling pretty full -- I'm just a few days into solids and haven't had that many, so I'm still learning!  I also realized that if I didn't throw it away, I would eventually just "snack" on it until it was gone.  There wasn't enough for another meal, and I still have other leftovers at home -- and it's the beginning of the weekend -- so I actually threw it away.

I see "normal" people leave food on their plates all the time, but very rarely do I through food away that isn't on the verge (or past!).  So this is a big step for me, and I know many of you can relate to this -- especially if your parents were of the don't waste food mentality!

Of course the more practical part of my brain says I just need to portion smaller -- but probably not -- 2 oz seems a pretty reasonable lunch portion!  I just have to recognize that just because 2 oz is there, doesn't mean I need to eat it all. 

Off to update MFP, since I had the full 2 oz in for today!

Starting weight: 260; Surgery Weight: 250; Month 1: -15.6; Month 2: -11.8; Month 3: -11.4;  Month 4: -7.4  Month 5: -8.6; Month 6: -3; Month 7 -3.8; Month 8 -7; Month 9: stall; Month 10: -4.4; Month 11: - 2.6; Month 12:-3.4

Kelly-AnneH
on 12/7/12 3:17 am - Edmonton, Canada
VSG on 06/26/12
Yay you! Throwing food away is really weird, isn't it? It's one of the biggest things I've learned to do, and it still feels a bit strange.

It's entirely possible that 2 oz is a bit much for you right now. I'm at just over 5 months and still find 2 oz to be a BIG serving - 1-1.5 oz is generally where I'm comfortable.

Highest 303.4, Surgery 263, Current 217.8, Goal 180

Julia HasHerLifeNow
on 12/7/12 4:05 am
VSG on 10/09/12