saying goodbye to a frienemy......

grayC
on 5/4/13 11:24 pm
VSG on 05/01/13
Today I am 5 days out....
I am still learning how to work my sleeve and get in all the protien and fluids...
It's getting better everyday...
I have to say yesterday was the first day I caught myself "mourning" food..
It was a stupid dunkin donuts commercial for an egg sausage breakfast sandwich
( something I NEVER ate pre-sleeve BTW)
I then started to notice all the food commercials on TV.
As I went to Bed last nite, I was thinking about all the foods I will no longer eat..
And my subconscious came alive and started yelling at me...where has eating all that CR@P gotten you...fat and very unhealthy that's where...you have eaten everything your thinking about now a MILLION times before, it NEVER needs to pass your lips again....my whole reason for this surgery was that I was slowly killing myself with food, and I decided ENOUGH I'd like to see my sons married and with children of their own and doing what I was doing was only get me In An early grave...
I woke up today feeling great..renewed and focused, I also got on the scale ( I was going to wait until my first post-op w/the Dr. But I did it anyway....
8 POUNDS GONE!!, since surgery 5 days ago AND 1 POUND til ONEDERLAND!!!
If that ain't incentive.....I don't know what is!!
I also had a NSV...my wedding band that hasn't fit me in 3 yrs now fits and comfortably!!
So goodbye my frienemy food...you NEVER loved me..you only distracted me from my problems, and always made me feel " less than" everyone else...
It has taken 46 yrs but now I know it's not a sin to help yourself, it's not vain, or self absorbed...it is right and it is true...to love yourself opens yourself to love others around you...
Have a happy Sunday VSG'ers

missthingg
on 5/4/13 11:53 pm - memphis, TN