non supportive friends

Brad Special
Snowflake

on 7/19/13 4:02 am
VSG on 12/06/12

I work in the mental health field and somebody in my program calls people like that psychic vampires. Meaning they will suck the life force right out of you if they are allowed. You want positive then surround your self with positive people. That is what I try to do. My best friend is very supportive of my surgery but in general is negative which I ignore and just focus on our friendship and he gets it.

NursingQueen
on 7/19/13 4:45 am - Philadelphia, PA
VSG on 08/26/13

That's a dam shame!  You have all the support in the world on OH!!  Were all here for you!!

Barbara

Pre-Op: 257.6   Surgery: 241.6  Pre-op: 16  M1: 21.6  M2: 13.9

Jennifer L.
on 7/19/13 5:05 am - Dayton, OH
VSG on 07/10/13 with

I am so so sorry you are getting this negativity. I will say, YEARS ago, when I first began my journey here, my husband felt the same way... it was the easy way out... it is for people who are lazy.... then he watched me. He watched me gain all the weight I had lost a few years before I met him in one instance of being on bed rest during my pregnancy. He saw me try diet.... after diet... .after diet... working out... eating clean... trying as hard as I could only to lose a couple pounds. He would work out with me, and not even be able to keep up (especially Zumba... he would tire out way before me)... he saw my struggle. After that, and the research I showed him about these surgeries, he was on board.