Just sleeved on 10/15/14

Chief147
on 10/18/14 1:01 am
VSG on 10/15/14 with

Hello everyone my name is Chiffon and I'm a Newbie to this but have been sneeking and peeking for a while. I was just sleeved on 10/15/14 and all went well with the surgery. I was released from the hospital on 10/17/14. I am not really able to consume all of my liquids every hour and I am concerned that I will become dehydrated . Another concern I have is that I am becoming very emotional is this normal?? Please help Thank Tou 

rumpole6
on 10/18/14 1:59 am

You need to keep trying to get the fluids in. It will get easier with time so you need to keep sipping. I found that if i could get an ounce in every fifteen minutes, that was enough drinking and really took the pressure off that I was feeling. Don't forget you can substitute tea, broth, or SF Jello as well to shake it up.

Pushing too hard to get my fluids in on my first day post op was a mistake, and I ended up not doing well.   You need to find a pace that works for you, there is no prize for getting you fluids in early.

Yes, I am feeling emotional at 5 days post-op. It is very strange situation I find myself in and I am sure you must be feeling the same. Feeling emotional is par for the course as far as I know.

Preop Diet 10/4/14; Sleeve: 10/13/14

Michaela M.
on 10/18/14 3:58 am

First off- congrats on getting your surgery! The life change you are going to experience is amazing. If you focus on just doing tiny sips throughout the day, it helps. That what my Dr. had told me. I have always been someone who gets more thirsty at night, so that's when I was more focused on getting enough ounces in.