Telling others?

28paws
on 4/22/15 9:20 pm

I'm scheduled to have surgery the second week of June. I have not told any of my friends or colleagues that I am having surgery- my sister is having the same surgery a few weeks before me and I have two friends that I've shared with because they both had weight loss surgery a few years back. I Don't want to lie but I am embarrassed... I'm a teacher and everyone I work with is super health conscious and skinny. Was everyone open and honest about their surgery?  People know I'm dieting and seeing a dietician but I'm just not sure I want to tell them- then I think they will figure it out soon...  Any advice?

ElizaM
on 4/23/15 1:06 am, edited 4/23/15 1:06 am
VSG on 07/24/14

It's really up to you. If people ask, you are entirely entitled to say that it's a private thing and leave it at that. The only thing I really take issue with is when people lie, because it falsely furthers the notion that people can just diet and exercise away the weight, when study after study shows that WLS is the most effective long term solution. 

Before I had surgery, I told a lot of people. I told my boss, HR, and some close coworkers, a handful of close friends, my immediate family and my close in-laws. While drugged up to high heaven post-op, I made a semi-public post on FB announcing it to the rest of my friends. (Social media and opioids don't mix!!!) Now, when people talk to me about my weight loss, I don't volunteer that I had surgery. I just thank them for their kind words. If someone does ask how I did it, I say that I had WLS, get lots of exercise, and am careful about what I eat. 

No one has ever reacted badly. Most people are just so happy for me! I think WLS is becoming a lot more common and at least the people I know are very polite about it, and I've been very grateful for the support I get.