Anyone else in my position?

Caribear84
on 6/12/16 6:47 pm

Hi all, I am new to this forum. I have just started the process of fulfilling my insurance requirements (dr. supervised weight loss plan, NUT visits) I know I need to discuss this with my surgeon, but I was wondering if anyone else is in a similar situation. I am a fitness instructor (lol, right?) and I teach fitness classes four days a week. The intensity ranges from aquatics classes for seniors, all the way up to Aqua Zumba. I am concerned about how my recovery will affect my ability to teach classes early on. I know I will have to be out for at least 4 weeks, but I am thinking I will have to take more like 6 weeks for the AZ class and my dance fitness classes. I am worried that I will not have enough energy or be able to stay hydrated through those more demanding classes.

Do you have a very physical job, and if so, how has your recovery affected your job performance?

KansasPrincess
on 6/13/16 5:18 am - Gardner, KS
VSG on 10/15/15

I think your biggest dilemma will be the pool water. I was told to stay out of a pool for at least 6 weeks. I had my surgery in mid October though.. so not a big deal for me as it was already getting cold here in KS in October and the pools close labor day! perfect timing. I was out walking 2 blocks a day, a few times a day. about 4 days after surgery after surgery. your energy will suck. but it will build back up . I was back to work in 3 weeks. I work in an office on a phone all day. energy by the time I came back was almost fully restored. and if you are like me.. I was so bored at home I was ready to be back to work and around people... good luck. I was sleeved 10/15/15 as of yesterday morning I'm down (including7.5 week pre op) 120.7 pounds...

HEIGHT 5'6" HW: 422.7 CW: 267.8 SURGERY DATE: 10/15/15 GW:160-170 VSG IN TIJUANA MEXICO WITH DR. JAIME PONCE DE LEON- REVISION TO RNY WITH DR. J. STEPHEN SCOTT, KS. 10/16/18

Chris "Thick-to-Fit" T.
on 6/13/16 7:27 am - FL