Need Help Please!

allbygrace
on 5/22/17 3:05 pm
VSG on 12/08/14

I had vertical sleeve surgery in Dec of 2014. I started at my highest weight of 235 and lost down to 140. I have gained up to 163. I need help on getting this weight back off. I know I need to up my water, exercise. My problem is I hate vegetables. I have been eating "when" and "what" I wanted for the last 3-4 months and now I'm in trouble. I need help on where to get started (portion size and what to eat). Please do not give me bad comments. It was VERY hard for me to join this group. I need ideas and support. I hate what I have done by gaining this weight. Is it possible to get 25 lbs back off? Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

Gwen M.
on 5/22/17 3:33 pm, edited 5/22/17 9:24 am
VSG on 03/13/14

Welcome.

The good news is that you've done this before and you CAN do it again. You can even do it while hating vegetables! The first thing you need to do, if you aren't already, is to start weighing and tracking every single thing you put into your mouth using something like MyFitnessPal. That will let you see what you're consuming and what you need to change. From there, you need to get back to your basics. Here are my basics, yours might be slightly different, but this should give you a good place to start.

1. Prioritize protein and water
a. dense protein trumps everything
2. Deprioritize carbs, especially the refined and processed ones
3. Make the most of healthy fats
4. Eat three meals a day with no snacks
5. Avoid liquid calories (breakfast protein shake is the exception)
a. don't drink with meals or 30 minutes after eating
6. Weigh portions
7. Eat mindfully and with no distractions aside from real live people
8. Move as much as possible
9. Weigh myself daily
10. Be kind to myself

VSG with Dr. Salameh - 3/13/2014
Diagnosed with Binge Eating Disorder and started Vyvanse - 7/22/2016