Do Lightweights need more protein to speed up weight loss?

Darlene O.
on 2/1/13 1:13 pm - Cypress, TX
RNY on 01/02/13 with

Hi I am new to OH.  I had my RNY 1/2/13 so I am 1 moth out.  I was reading another post that was saying lightweights lose slower than someone 300+ lbs does.  I can understand that, but someone else said that is why we need to get in more protein to speed up the weight loss.  My surgeon said he didn't want me to have protein shakes, he wants me to get my protein from food.  He also has a very slow transition period through the food stages.  I was on clear liquid for 1 week, full liquid for 3 weeks and when I see him tomorrow I will move to pureed foods.  My problem is that  he wants me to get in 60 to 80 grams of protein a day.  On liquids that is impossible.  My daily nutrition is roughly 200 -300 calories and I am averaging around 30 grams of protein a day.  I have been adding unjury unflavored protein to my soup and pudding to help get my protein up.  I lost 29 lbs in the first 3 weeks and stopped.   It has taken a week to lose 1 lb.  Could that be from the lack of protein?  I am going to ask my doctor to explain why no protein drinks tomorrow.  Almost everyone has protein drinks after WLS.

Darlene

MacMadame
on 2/1/13 1:44 pm - Northern, CA

First of all, lightweights most certainly do NOT lose slower than heavyweights. People who say that don't understand numbers. They see a person with 300 pounds to lose losing 20 pounds a month and a lightweight losing 15 and say that the person who lost 20 pounds is losing faster. But they are not. They are losing SLOWER.

The reason is that they are losing a smaller percentage of their excess weight. To give concrete numbers:

Let's say I have 200 pounds to lose and you have 100. I lose 15 pounds and you lose 10. I've lost 7.5% of my excess weight, but you've lost 10% of yours!

This is why lightweights tend to get to goal faster than heavyweights.