Imodium?

rargirl
on 4/1/11 1:06 am
Does anyone use Imodium for Diarhea? I am fairly new to my DS and find that I have diarhea off and on almost every day.

It is not a huge problem for me except for when it interrupts my sleeping by getting me up to use the restroom up to 5 times a night.

Once I took an Imodium and slept through the night... and I also didn't have a bowel movement until the following evening which was a little worrysome.

Is there any strong reason why a person with a DS should not use Immodium?

Thanks!

(deactivated member)
on 4/1/11 1:14 am - Lancaster, OH
Yeah, I don't like the Imodium because when it finally works, it works too well.
Have you been introduced to the miracle that is (are) Chia seeds?
I really wouldn't have the same quality of life without them.  They keep me on a regular pooping schedule, and the consistency is MUCH better with them in my life.
(I just love that it's okay to talk about poop here.)
Ms. Cal Culator
on 4/1/11 1:19 am, edited 4/1/11 1:26 am - Tuvalu

Two points of view, both from me and both that there is no problem using immodium...

1--take immodium and make it stop;
2--don't rely on the immodium, because what needs to get out needs to get out.

Early out, I used a bunch of those puppies...and rx lomotil, as well.  However, early out, I still hadn't learned that some of what I was using and I thought would make me healthy was actually giving me the runs...milk products...bread products...and (in my case) protein shakes.

So you might try to discover a cause for some of your problem and keep in mind that what you react to can change over time.
rargirl
on 4/1/11 5:34 am
Thank you both. I will be looking into the Chia seeds so I have an alternative if I need it. If this diarrhea continues during the night I think the first thing I will do is an elimination diet. If I do decide to take Immodium again, I think I will just take a 1/2. It's powerful stuff.
Diane Davis
on 4/1/11 3:55 pm