All who pray, please pray for me.

ajrober2
on 3/27/12 4:43 am - Houston, TX
DS on 11/01/12
Hello All,

I just found this website today.  I've been encouraged thus far from reading through the various posts.  Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences.  I am currently 28 years old, I've been battling obesity since I was about 7 years old.  I am looking to have the duodenal switch surgery.  However, my insurance wants me to pay a sizable deductible, 20% of the surgery, and any other costs associated with the surgery outside of the procedure itself.  On top of that, I am required to enter a 12 month supervised weight loss management program before I can even be considered for approval.  I am sooooo frustrated.  I am sick and tired of diets that don't work.  I am tired of losing 20 pounds only to gain 30 back.  I'm not sure that I have another 12 months of dieting with no results left in me.  I'm hoping to get the funds from my bank and just pay for the surgery myself to get it done.  I've done my research and know someone personally who has had DS.  I know its NO EASY WAY out, but it is the tool that I know will help me finally defeat my weight problem and live a normal life.  

There is so much I could write, but I will cut this short.  Please pray for me that something works out financially that I can get this surgery done and have the strength and discipline to follow diet/exercise protocol post-op for the best results.  Hopefully this time next year, I can share my success story and help someone else.

God Bless,

Abe
larra
on 3/27/12 7:29 am - bay area, CA