MNsure

belle2006beauty
on 11/23/14 3:17 pm, edited 11/25/14 5:08 am

Hello!

I am new to OH, and to the bariatric surgery process. I briefly looked into having the surgery with my current insurance. However i was informed that they have an exclusion and that no one had had luck getting an appeal through. So I put the idea on the back burner, as leaving my job was not an option. Sadly for me I will no longer have coverage through my job after the first of the year. So now I am looking to get insurance through the MNsure website. As I'm looking it appears that every plan has exclusions for weight loss surgery.

What I was to know is if anyone has gotten insurance though MNsure and if they had any luck getting bariatric surgery covered. I'm hoping that losing my insurance can be turned into a positive, rather than the hassle it has been so far. 

If anyone has any advice I would greatly appreciate it!

Jlynnr87
on 12/2/14 5:20 am - Elbow lake , MN

I have medical assistance through the state of minnesota and I just called them today and they said they do cover WLS you just have to meet their requirements. Not sure if this helps you at all. 

belle2006beauty
on 12/2/14 5:39 am

Thank you so much for your reply, and for calling! I was aware that MA would cover it, but I don't qualify for MA. Nor do I qualify for MinnesotaCare which also covers it. I have to buy my own plan through the MNSure website. From my research our state is not one that requires WLS to be covered so none of the available options say that they cover it. I'm guessing I'll have to try to appeal, and I'm hoping someone might have already gone through that process with the insurance available through the marketplace and could advise me on how it went. 

Alison B.
on 2/21/15 2:32 am - ROSEVILLE, MN
VSG on 05/28/15