Newbie here - question about protein shakes and vitamins in powder form

Dreamy74
on 6/4/14 4:58 am
RNY on 02/04/15

Hello all!  I am a newbie and have just started the journey (May 28th orientation at Toronto Western Hospital) to seek out gastric bypass.  I have read through all of my materials and have read a lot of your posts (thank you for being here Ontario forum).  I want to try to do some of the things that will be required of me post-surgery and am wondering if anyone can give me some ideas about powdered vitamins and protein shakes.  I tried a "Vega" (Vegan) brand chocolate  protein shake on the weekend and it was vile.  I am guessing that I need to get a blender and blend with lots of ice.  Can anyone give me some recommendations of brands for protein shakes that I could try that taste good?  And also, if anyone knows of chewable tablets for vitamins it would be appreciated.

Thanks so much in advance!

~Dreamy74

Catw
on 6/4/14 5:18 am - Arnprior, Canada

Hi Dreamy,

Welcome to the board. 

A lot of the vitimin information you are looking for will be told at the orientation.  There are a couple chewables on the shelf at the drug store, but some are also starting to carry Bariatric Vitimins.  There are also places you can order them from.  I am far enough along I can take tablets.  Post WLS you will not be able to take anything time released.  Including vitamins.