Time off?

Missmandy24
on 1/30/15 5:55 am

Super close to being able to submit to insurance for surgery approval. I am a teacher so obviously I get summer off. Originally when I started this process last year I was aiming for December (two weeks off plus my week and half sick leave takes me to almost a month off). Well now I am going to probably be approved for a Marcus or April surgery date. I am considering just trying to hold off till the beginning of June. Not sure how that part of things works though... How much time did you take off? What's the process if I need to miss work? Do you think the surgeon will let me pu**** out or once I get approved do I have a window where I have to get it done? Thanks!

Cathy W.
on 1/30/15 6:10 am

I took off for two weeks.  I had a job that was mostly sedentary so it was fine.  

Depending on the amount of employees, you could take FMLA (Family Medical Leave Act), short term disability (if available) or vacation/sick/PTO combo.  

With your job as a teacher, explain to your surgeon and insurance company the time frame you'd like to have your surgery.  It is only a couple of months later so I wouldn't think it would be a problem.

Cathy

Want to get back on track or stay on track? Get Back On Track Together!

Maria27
on 1/30/15 6:15 am - Chicago, IL
RNY on 03/17/15

I'm sure it depends on your insurance and if the preapproval expires. My surgeon's office told me the soonest day that I could have the surgery, and I asked to wait a few weeks so I could have it during spring break. It was not a problem for me, but your insurance might be different. I am a student, and I only have nine days off before I have to be in class again. I'm not sure how that is going to go yet.

Height: 5'5" HW: 290 Consultation Weight: 276 SW: 257 CW: 132

Missmandy24
on 1/30/15 6:22 am