Sleep Study ?'s

4seasons
on 5/22/12 2:47 am
VSG on 08/13/12
I am having a sleep study Thursday night and was wondering if the results of this could delay a surgery date? If I do have sleep apnea, will I have to be on a cpap machine for a while before they will do the surgery? I'm hoping this only will determine what the anethesiologist will have to do for me during surgery. It doesn't do any good for me to call the surgeon's office with questions. I only get their answering machine and rarely a call back.

I don't know what to expect.
jacreasy
on 5/22/12 3:07 am
VSG on 04/23/12
I had a sleep study done b/c my PCP thought that it would be one more reason for the Ins. Co. to say YES! I went stayed overnight it wasnt that bad.. If you have a pill that will help you sleep I say take it. I did but then again Im not a Doctor!  I did and might still do have Sleep App but it didnt affect the progress of my surgery.  I never went back for the second follow up as they wanted me to do another one with the Pap Mach on. I didnt  go b/c I WILL NOT USE ONE AT HOME.   Good Luck Hope that helps a little

(VSG)  HW, 346 SW, 341 CW 176.2 GW, 165  kiss

Kevin H.
on 5/22/12 8:29 am - Baltimore, MD
VSG on 02/06/12
This is sad to me .. kinda like saying you have cancer but refuse to take chemo for it.  If there is a treatment, you are only hurting yourself by not using it.  Sleep apnea left untreated causes Pulmonary Hypertension for which there is no cure and a host of other long term affects of your oxygen saturations dropping constantly all night long.  I have been using mine for 14 years now and I'll take that over ending up in a nursing home anyday.  I refuse to even nap without it.

Best of luck to you.

jacreasy
on 5/25/12 4:41 am
VSG on 04/23/12
 Thanks... Mine was just a very low result.  Was really like being on the borderline of having it. Best of luck to you as well... Hope you are able to get off that soon!

(VSG)  HW, 346 SW, 341 CW 176.2 GW, 165  kiss

Kevin H.