Xpost - Surgery one week from today, nerves setting in

Glow2182
on 1/15/14 2:40 am - WA

*disclaimer* Just venting some thoughts here that no one can really understand until you go through these things like we do.

So my surgery date is finally upon me. One week from today I will be going in for my VSG.

I've been working towards this (insurance-wise) since April 2013. Been contemplating having surgery for 10 years or so...

You would think after all that waiting and thinking about this point that I would be ecstatic that my big day is just around the corner now!

Instead, with each passing day I get a little more somber about what is about to happen.

I am glad that the wait will finally be over and I will be able to move forward...but there are also SO many other thoughts running through my head. The immediate changes of course (what I'll be eating, how I will be eating, when I will be eating, how do I make 1/2 cup of food last 30 minutes, what if I don't take my vitamins in the right order and end up with some sort of vitamin deficiency) and the longer term changes as well, (what if I don't lose as fast as I hope to and get discouraged, how will I feel when everyone starts noticing the weight loss and it becomes an even bigger topic than the surgery is now, will i feel like the real me is finally able to show herself or will i struggle with body dismorphia and still feel like the same old me, etc, etc, etc).

I am confident that everything will work out exactly how its supposed to...I guess I'm just anxious to see what that will look like.