First Seminar VSG

queenb39
on 4/7/19 2:21 am

Hello everyone I am new to this so please bear with me. Is there anyway I can jump start the process and start with a special diet that you recommend? Are there any pointers that you would tell me going forward. My seminar is next week. I am in the Georgia area and my doctor is dr. Joseph Morris. I would appreciate any opinions or comments thank you so much

catwoman7
on 4/7/19 5:46 am
RNY on 06/03/15

many (but not all) insurance companies require that you have a supervised diet (often six months) with a physician or dietitian before getting approved. If yours does, whoever is supervising your diet should come up with a plan for you. If you're not required to go through a supervised diet, then the best thing you can do is start making gradual changes to your diet so you get used to the way you'll be eating after surgery. For example, start gradually lowering your calories. Start eating more protein and fewer carbohydrates. Start weaning yourself off carbonated beverages. Start practicing separating eating from drinking (i.e., don't drink anything for 30 minutes after eating). If you start making some or all of these changes now, the post-surgery eating rules won't seem as draconian to you

RNY 06/03/15 by Michael Garren (Madison, WI)

HW: 373 SW: 316 GW: 150 LW: 138 CW: 163

Pobearsam7
on 4/7/19 8:42 am

Yes definitely start looking at what you eat and start to cut back

i had 6 months to cut back and it was hard I started with soda, alcohol and sweets

start gradually

now since I'm post op I will have cake a few times a yr for bdays in my family

I have not touched alcohol nor soda since surgery

i have know ppl who have but not me

also start looking up bariatric friendly recipes on line and try them out

I make crustless quiche now and I love it all it is is plain Greek yogurt eggs and what ever veggies or meat I want

Kelly                

Sparklekitty, Science-Loving Derby Hag
on 4/7/19 7:39 pm
RNY on 08/05/19