I'm a newbie and I finally have a surgery date!

NiaLong
on 5/2/19 7:19 am
VSG on 04/22/19

Hi Guys!

I'm brand new here and I just got a surgery date of June 4th. I am excited and nervous at the same time. I'm just hoping and praying I get good results from VSG. Does anyone have any advice they'd like to share for the journey ahead?

TheWombat
on 5/2/19 5:18 am
VSG on 06/11/18

Congratulations! My suggestions:

1. Spend the time between now and surgery identifying your triggers for overeating or eating the wrong things, and develop a plan for how you'll deal with those situations in future.
  2. Don't buy a lot of things to eat post-surgery. Most of us find that our tastes change. That protein shake you liked before and bought a crate of may taste yucky afterward. You'll be on liquids (plus possibly porridge or something like that) immediately after surgery, so there will be plenty of time for shopping later.
  3. Try not to worry (I know that advice doesn't help much!)If you watch videos or read posts about people's surgery experiences, what sticks in your mind are the bad things! Most people seem to have a quick, smooth recovery. When I woke up, one of my first thoughts was "All that worrying was a big waste of time." I only had very mild nausea, which was quickly corrected by my nursing staff. I didn't really feel any pain.
  4. One thing worth buying beforehand is a couple of tiny bowls with lids (for storage) and a couple of small plates (e.g., saucer-sized).
NiaLong
on 5/6/19 6:02 am
VSG on 04/22/19

Thank you for this advice! I'm really focused on the first tip you gave. Identifying triggers because I know at the end of the day, it's all mental. We can alter the stomach but it doesn't alter the brain.

Nurse8724
on 5/2/19 2:06 pm