I lost a whole lock yesterday

McPoet
on 12/26/12 6:43 am

I have been losing hair pretty steadily.  I had my surgery 7 months ago, and I know that it is "normal" to lose some hair around this stage.  It started with thinning, and it has moved from my front hairline (where my hair was naturally thin anyway) and it has slowly made it's way backward.  My hair is so thin in front that I keep it wrapped ALL of the time now.  I never go out without covering my head.  I had been growing dreads for 4 years, and I am really fond of my hair.

I'm also very pleased with my weight loss and my better health.  Don't get me wrong.  My question:  how long before I really see my hair again?  There is fine hair where the first hair began falling out, but I'm still losing hair.  

Also, for anyone who also has dreads, how do you recommend I care for my hair at this tender, tender stage?

I have the power!  I will make it happen. 

bigtreats
on 12/30/12 6:37 am - TX
RNY on 11/20/12
Wow....I am 5 weeks out from surgery and my locs are almost 5 months old. i have been worried about the same thing...
(deactivated member)
on 12/31/12 6:32 am
7 years out lost a lot an I mean a lot did a lot to try to save an its so THIN NOW OMG but everybody is different
Dreadz9093
on 1/1/13 9:07 pm - Irvington, NJ

5 yrs since my surgery and I never lost any of my hair but I think maybe it depends on the type of surgery...I had Lapband where I have girlfriends who have had Gastric bypass and have lost their hair...I would guess it's because of the nutrients and vitamins ur body is no longer receiving that causes this issue...Make sure u take all ur supplements and keep ur hair oiled and make sure u keep all the tension (no tight ponytails or braids).

McPoet
on 1/1/13 10:01 pm