Homophobic experience at work

RainbowRN
on 1/7/13 11:37 am - OH
RNY on 03/12/13
I'm a nurse and I was orienting a new nurse to my floor.  This actually happened and I posted the below on facebook.  What do you all think?

Okay, picture this dialogue between me and an ignorant person that I just met:

Ignorant person makes a stupid homophobic remark about gay people.
I wasn't sure I heard him right. So I didn't say anything. I just kept quiet and hoped that I was wrong about him just being incredibly ******g stupid. Then..... Ignorant person makes a SECOND homophobic remark and includes the classic hand hanging sign to indicate someone gay. I just stared at him and let it go. (Trust me I had a reason, otherwise I would have been all over his ****). Finally, ignorant person makes this remark..."You know that guy with the overly tanned body and the blonde tip highlights? You don't wanna have to bend over to pick anything up in front of him..." Then does the "hand hang" again. I had enough...so I said... "DUDE..I'm GAY! I am married to a woman and you cannot say that **** to me. You need to watch what the hell you say because all these comments have been VERY inappropriate and you can seriously offend someone as well as get in a hell of alot more trouble than you can even imagine. This is 2013 and you should never imply that you know anything about anyone!" He just stared at me with his mouth open. He then apologized to me over and over again. He then asked me if people knew about it. WTF? Is this not 2013??? I said, "Everyone knows and no one cares. If you don't like me for something as incredibly ignorant as who I am married to then that's not my problem. I am secure in myself and don't need anyone's approval" ASS.

It is so hard to believe that some people are still like this!!

HW: 373 GW: 170 HT: 5'10"

Tia T.
on 1/7/13 2:58 pm