Does anyone know how long can you keep your band empty?

angcolon
on 8/3/14 11:26 am - waters edge, CT

I am a 7 yr veteran and  18 weeks pregnant with twins. I had a major stuck issue and had to empty my band back in March. Not thinking any about it I said I'll give myself some time and get a fill in a little bit. Well I end up pregnant and sick so I hold off. Then I get my ultra sound and find out we are having twins so I don't get my fill. I went on Google to see how long I can keep my band empty without causing any damage. And to my surprise I can't find any info. Does anyone know if there is a time limit to having your band empty without causing damage to your band? 

Thanks,Ang

Hislady
on 8/3/14 1:13 pm - Vancouver, WA

I was empty for 2 years before I got mine out, I can't imagine how it could hurt your band. Now the band may cause you harm empty or filled from scar tissue build up between the band and your stomach. Lots of women have gone empty while pregnant with no problem. You may find it difficult to get back to your "sweet spot" after giving birth lots of people do, so you may have to really work harder to get the weight to stay under control. Good luck and congrats on the baby!

Kate -True Brit
on 8/3/14 10:10 pm, edited 8/3/14 10:10 pm - UK

I have come across many people with empty bands but not come across one for whom being empty caused problems. But that is purely anecdotal - you need to ask your doctor.

Highest 290, Banded - 248   Lowest 139 (too thin!). Comfort zone 155-165.

Happily banded since May 2006.  Regain of 28lbs 2013-14.  ALL GONE!

But some has returned! Up to 175, argh! Off we go again,

Bette B.
on 8/4/14 10:38 am

I know of people who have had their band for ages and have never had a fill AT ALL. I non-medical guess is that you could keep it that way forever/ But of course, you should talk to your doc.

Banded 10 years & maintaining my weight loss!! Any questions, message me.

cheyenne000
on 8/5/14 11:01 am
VSG on 03/25/16