BREADS

nona1
on 5/10/11 2:44 am - NC
I am right at 2 months from having my surgery. I was told in the beginning when I eat bread to make sure it is toasted. Is that still true at 2 months out. I wanted to make me a tomatoe sandwhich or a turkey sandwhich and wanted to know if I need to toast my bread or not. Is it alright to eat a tomatoe at 2 months. 
Cleopatra_Nik
on 5/10/11 2:52 am - Baltimore, MD
Just my opinion but I wouldn't bother with bread that early out. Even toasted it takes up premium pouch space without giving you good protein in return. But that's just my opinion.
nona1
on 5/10/11 2:56 am - NC
Thanks this is what this site is for. I am a newbie so I need to ask before I do something crazy!!. You are right protein, protein, protein!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 
nomoresugar
on 5/10/11 3:06 am
I craved a sandwich about about two months.  I used one slice of bread, and piled the filling(s) on it.  I had about one bite with the bread (yum) then just ate the fillings and tossed the rest of the bread.  It satisfied the craving and wasn't over the top as a choice.  Still works for me.
eliana
on 5/10/11 3:21 am
 I'm with Nik. You can eat so little right now, every bit counts from a nutrition standpoint. I am 19 mths out and I still try to limit the bread. I basically don't eat it at home, but sometimes treat myself when I am out to dinner and there is a high quality bread that is served. Toasted bread is definitely easier for me - regular bread just does not sit well in the pouch for me. Unfortunately though, carbs make me crave more carbs which is why I have to be really careful about bread consumption. Many times though a bite or two is enough to satisfy my craving.