Sleep Apnea

Don27516
on 6/7/11 10:58 pm - NC
 I have been sleeping with a BiPap for 18 years. My last sleep study was three years ago when I weighed 330 pounds. I am down to 243 pounds now (surgery weight at 290, 7 weeks ago). Should I start thinking about another sleep study to adjust my pressures, or should I wait until I have finished losing weight? I think my pressures might be too high right now. I have been waking up with a very dry mouth. How likely is it that I will be able to put my BiPap in the closet and stop using it some day?

Dave Chambers
on 6/7/11 11:15 pm - Mira Loma, CA
This topic was discussed at the support meeting I attended last night.  Many in attendance stated that they had graduated from a bipap to a cpap and/or had to reduce their pressure on their cpap units.  One of the regular attendees, who happens to be a nurse and the support group leader both recommended you get re-evaluated when you lose each 40 pounds or so. There is a test (sounds almost like hyptertension, but don't remember the name of the test) that can be done relatively easily.  Many in attendance (including me) had weaned ourselves off our cpap units over a few weeks or months post op.  Usually, the pressure becomes uncomfortable for sleeping as you lose significant weight.  It's highly likely you'll be off of that machine in coming weeks or months.  But, if you have real concerns,  I'd consult your pulmanologist in the near future to get a medical opinion.  I know that I had to always used a hydration tank inline with my cpap or I'd have very dry nasal passages.  I still used my cpap unit for 6 months post op--probably more of a "security blanket" issue, than a medical necessity.  DAVE

Dave Chambers, 6'3" tall, 365 before RNY, 185 low, 200 currently. My profile page: product reviews, tips for your journey, hi protein snacks, hi potency delicious green tea, and personal web site.
                          Dave150OHcard_small_small.jpg 235x140card image by ragdolldude