If you could do it over

mcrmsi77
on 6/13/11 6:00 am - IN
Rny ppl if you could do it over would you have the sleeve? I have heard lots on people that do the rny say this? If so why?

poet_kelly
on 6/13/11 6:10 am - OH
Yes, I would.  So I could take NSAIDS and so I didn't have to worry so much about vitamin deficiencies.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Dave Chambers
on 6/13/11 6:15 am - Mira Loma, CA
No.  There are 2 sisters in one of my support groups. One had a sleeve 18 months ago, and hers sister had the rny 1 year ago.  The RNY sister has lost more than her sleeved sister.  But the RNY sister says her sister has learned to cheat with the sleeve, so her wt loss was only 80 pounds at 18 months, and she could stand to lose anotherr 60-70 pounds (I've met this sister at a previous meeting).  You have no malabsorption with the sleeve, Type II diabetes will likely not be resolved, no dumping (so you can eat lot of fatty or sugary foods), no relief of GERD, no reversal of the sleeve (only possible revision to a RNY).  There is a lot more long range data on RNY patients as this surgery has been done for around 20 years, whereas the sleeve was not commonly done until about 18 months ago.  I'd recommend attending some support meetings to help you make up your mind. DAVE

Dave Chambers, 6'3" tall, 365 before RNY, 185 low, 200 currently. My profile page: product reviews, tips for your journey, hi protein snacks, hi potency delicious green tea, and personal web site.
                          Dave150OHcard_small_small.jpg 235x140card image by ragdolldude

ebonykitten
on 6/14/11 6:55 am