The surgeon doesn't want to sleeve me... :(

Lexie 84
on 7/20/11 11:57 am - Washington, DC
VSG on 03/13/12
Hello all...this is my first time on this forum. I have started my WLS journey wanting the Sleeve, so I have been spending all of my time on that forum. I just posted this over there but wanted to pose this to the RNY folks. I need some opinions, pretty please!

I had my first consultation today...he asked me what surgery did I have in my mind. Of course I said THE SLEEVE!!!!!!!!!!!!! He told me that he thinks I should get the gastric bypass b/c I'm diabetic and there's a much greater chance to resolve my diabetes and also more weight loss associated with the bypass. From what I've read...I find it hard to believe there'd be a major difference. Everyone on this forum has posted such great results with the sleeve. He is like really anti-sleeve. He said he does them, but he insists that the bypass is better. I'm so confused...I had made up my mind that I wouldn't want to deal with the stigma and complications associated with the bypass. Now he has me second guessing...

poet_kelly
on 7/20/11 12:01 pm - OH
I'll tell you what I'd do if I were in your shoes.

I'd ask him to show me the studies that show diabetes is much more likely to resolve with gastric bypass and that you'll lose more weight.

If you aren't satisfied that the info he shows you indicates that the bypass is best for you or if he won't or can't show you the data, then I'd get a second opinion from another surgeon.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 7/20/11 12:07 pm - OH