Varicose veins, please share your knowledge---

Shelly S.
on 7/24/11 6:55 am - Mason, MI
When I was my heaviest, I had two or three varicose leg veins that bulged pretty bad. As I have lost the weight the bulges are bigger and more are showing. They are primarily on my right thigh and calf----any thoughts? Sometimes they are hot to the touch and very sensitive.

I see my PCP at the beginning of August and planned to ask him, but would love some additional insight or experience.

Thanks in advance,

Shelly
Shelly Smith    
HW 326 SW 293 CW 180 GW 160        
Proudtobaloser
on 7/24/11 7:01 am - Fayetteville, NC
OOOOO I am curious about this too. Thanks for asking.

As a single person we make but a whisper, as a crowd we make a roar. A friend.
"I never claimed to be an expert at such matters, but I am an expert at giving my opinion."- My dad

Shelly S.
on 7/24/11 7:09 am - Mason, MI
I have searched the forums and read about "vein stripping". This could be a possibility-----
Shelly Smith    
(deactivated member)
on 7/24/11 12:25 pm - TX
Depends on how big they are, and how close to the skin surface, but sometimes they can be injected with saline over a six to eight week period and it makes them disappear. Otherwise, you can have surgery to strip them or get rid of them.
Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 7/24/11 12:45 pm, edited 7/24/11 12:45 am - OH
You probably already know this, but just in case (and for folks that do not know)... vein "stripping" is actually surgically removing that section of vein... so whether or not they CAN do it (and whether it is ADVISABLE to do it) depends on how removal of that section of vein will impact your overall circulation in that leg. Make sure you consult a vascular surgeon who can do tests to identify what that impact will be BEFORE you decide to have it removed.

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

Shelly S.